January Indulge Me Box

My Indulge Me Box came in the mail. For  a recap from my previous post on this company,

Cost: 20$ a month, 55$ a quarter, 110$ bi-annually or 220$ for the year with 5$ shipping in Canada (The shipping is new)

The site says that it is a mix of make up, skin care, accessories and lifestyle items. Starting this month, all subscribers have to pay 5$ shipping on top of the 20$ a month (or whatever it may be according to your plan).  I saw many spoilers for this month, so I am interested to see if it lived up to all of the hype.

The contents of this box were as follows:

  • Pretty Tea (assorted flavors, I got Maple Walnuts)
  • Fresh Cream Tinted Lip Balm
  • Naiad Soap Arts Sugar Scrub (Assorted scents, I got Raspberry Bellini)
  • Karma Hoop Earrings
  • Braid String with Feather
  • Indie Beauty Shop Green & White detox facial mask

PhotoGrid_1420505751580

PhotoGrid_1420506008644

1. Pretty Tea in Maple Walnut (3.50$ for 25grams)

It’s winter time and the only thing we want to do is get cozy, watch our favorite movie and drink a cup of hot tea. Pretty tea us the perfect tea for that. Their tea ensures the satisfaction of your tastebuds- from the pureness of the High Mountain green tea to their warm spicy teas. 

I received the Maple Walnut flavor from Pretty Tea.  This is a company out of Quebec and they seem to have quite the collection of tea flavors. This was the first thing I opened when I got my box. While I’m not a big tea person, (I sort of consider it dirty water. Sorry tea fans) it does intrigue me. I put 1 tsp in a tea bag for loose tea and tried this out. I found it had a strong green tea taste. When dry, I could smell the maple which I thought was nice. I have rehomed this tea at a friends who actually loves tea.

PhotoGrid_1420505938319

2. Fresh Cream Tinted Lip Balm in Cherry Tint (3,50$)

Fresh Cream Tinted Lip Balm is ultimate feminine lip balm is truly rich and creamy, made of the finest ingredients renown for their moisturizing and healing qualities, such as olive oil, cocoa butter, and coconut oil. Every lip balm has a bit of tint and is freshly made just two weeks before shipping. 

I actually like this tinted lip balm. It has a darker color but doesn’t seem to dark for me to wear on a daily basis. I don’t find it smells like cherries, but then again, I’m not sure if cherry was referring to the color or the smell.


PhotoGrid_1420505841206

3. Naiad Soap Arts Sugar Scrub in Raspberry Bellini (6,57$ for 2 oz)

Yumm! That’s the first thought that comes to mind when we open this sugar scrubs’ jar. Their sugar whipped soap is a convenient scrub and soap in one! Fine sugar gently polishes and softens skin, with tons of bubbly later and skin loving moisturizers. Use every day and make your skin happy. 

Hands down, this is my favorite part of the box. I love the smell of this scrub! It’s fantastic! I’m very glad I got a smell that I enjoy.


PhotoGrid_1420506060623

4. Karma Hoop Earrings (12$)

These beautiful hoop earrings are semi handmade by the people at Karma boutique which is a NY based family run accessory shop. These are lead compliant earrings with approx. 2.5″ inch drop. 

Pretty earrings? Check. My style? Absolutely not. These are definitely not anything that I would wear, but these were rehomed with a friend who wears things like this constantly.  It’s not clear on the picture, but the card actually says that these are from the “2007 collection.” So either they’ve been sitting around for a few years, or it’s a collection based off of designs from that year. Either way, not for me.

PhotoGrid_1420506095967

5. Braid String with Feather (8$)

Try something new this year with this lightly feathered braid string. This can be used many ways from a trendy hair band to a beautiful hair accessory.

Well, I’m not sure that this is worth 8$, but it’s ok. I’m not loving the feathers, but I do like the colors of the braid string. I can see myself possibly wearing this around the house.

PhotoGrid_1420506139994

 6. Indie Beauty Shop Green & White detox facial mask (1$)

We wanted to fully indulge you this month so we decided to add this detox mask from an Indie shop in Toronto. This mask has capability to deep clean the skin. So start a new year with new refreshed skin. This mask can be used twice. 

This is actually another exciting item for me. Which is a bit depressing since its’ value is very low. It’s a mask that you mix with water, put on your face and wash off. It also has more than one use, which is great in my books.

 

PhotoGrid_1420502775788

Overall:

I paid 20$ for this box, but the price will be going up to 25$ from here on out.  The calculated value for this box is 34.57$, but I feel like the accessories were grossly over valued. While I’m not wowed, I am going to give it one more box. If I’m not impressed, then I believe I will be putting my box subscription budget elsewhere. There are also changes coming to Indulge Me Box. The owner sent out an email this week saying that the box is likely changing to Indulge Me Box brand ethical skin and makeup products. These products would be full sized as opposed to deluxe sample sized.

3 thoughts on “January Indulge Me Box

    • I’m just happy that I could regift the earrings to someone who really loves them. And yes, the Raspberry Bellini scrub is so nice! I am debating purchasing another version from the company.

      Like

Leave a comment